University of Tasmania

University of Tasmania
, Hobart, Tasmania

Information Sheet: 
Information Sheet 2022

The University of Tasmania is unique in being the only University in the State of Tasmania, and it therefore offers a very wide range of academic disciplines to cater for the needs of Tasmania’s citizens. The five Faculties of the University are: Arts, Business, Education, Health Science, Law, Science, Engineering and Technology and the Australian Maritime College. The Faculties comprise 53 Schools or Centres. The University specialises in programs which reflect the distinctiveness of the island of Tasmania and its unique location and environment. These include: Antarctic and Southern Ocean Studies, Natural Environment and Wilderness Studies, the primary industries of Agriculture, Aquaculture, Fisheries, Mining and Forestry, and Population and Community Studies, not to mention many more Undergraduate, Postgraduate and Research specialties. Tasmania offers international students a unique opportunity to gain internationally recognised qualification in a relaxed, safe and beautiful environment.

Established in 1890, the University of Tasmania is one of Australia's oldest universities. The University is a medium-sized institution by Australian standards, with a total student population of around ~50,000. There are currently ~5,500 international students from more than 90 countries studying at the University's two main campuses, at Hobart in the south and Launceston in the north of the State.

CRICOS Provider Code: 00586B